Anaximperator blog

Blogging against alternative cancer treatments

Sodium Bicarbonate Really Works… for H1N1 influenza!

baking sodaOh, my. We overlooked something. ‘Respected’ woo-meister Dr Mercola proposes another use for Sodium Bicarbonate! As he believes, it cannot only cure cancer, but is also a good for ….. treating H1N1 influenza!

In 1918 and 1919 while fighting the ‘flu’ with the U. S. Public Health Service it was brought to my attention that rarely anyone who had been thoroughly alkalinized with bicarbonate of soda contracted the disease, and those who did contract it, if alkalinized early, would invariably have mild attacks.

Miracles do happen!

Did Dr Mercola think of this himself? No. Of course not. He retrieved his information on a site wholy dedicated to sodium bicarbonate.

Here’s the article by Mercola:
Overlooked 150 Year Old Household Cleaner a Remedy for Swine Flu?

Here’s his source:
Bicarbonate Treatment for Swine Flu (1924)

click on picture to view articles by Sircus

Dr. Mercola mentions ex medical doctor Tullio Simonici and Mark Sircus, who both advocate using baking soda for even the most serious of diseases – cancer!

I’m not going to debunk this. It’s alreadybeen done. Orac did a really good job on his Respectful Insolence blog.

Arm & Hammer Baking Soda for H1N1 influenza and cancer? Woo at its finest!

Mercola seems to prefer his own variety of acid-base quacks, guys like  Tullio Simoncini and another one I hadn’t heard of, Mark Sircus, Ac, OMD, who buys into the same woo. He also clearly doesn’t understand basic physiology […] I’m hearing  a quacking noise, and it’s emanating from Mercola. He’s promoting quackery for H1N1 in this instance, and he’s promoting cancer quackery from Sircus and Simoncini.

What’s next? Baking soda as a cure for diabetes?

16 responses to “Sodium Bicarbonate Really Works… for H1N1 influenza!

  1. WeWee December 18, 2009 at 5:10 pm

    Simoncini says that the candida, in addition to cancer, also causes diabetes, multiple sclerosis and many other diseases …

  2. beatis December 18, 2009 at 8:14 pm

    Every time I think it just can’t get any crazier, it does.

  3. beatis December 21, 2009 at 12:13 pm

    Just found this:

    The Long-Term Evidence for Vaccines
    Vaccination does more than protect against flu. Study after study shows that keeping children safe from viruses has long-lasting, positive health benefits.

    http://www.newsweek.com/id/226097/page/1

  4. lizanne December 23, 2009 at 10:58 am

    I tried the baking soda. Not for cancer but for flu. I had all the symptoms including a very sore throat which all came on very quickly. I followed the baking soda protocol for one day and will continue for another couple but by the evening yesterday I had no fever, no headache and only a slight sore throat. I also took high levels of vitamin C as well but have never found Vit C alone seems to help much.
    I will be doing this again the next time I get flu.

  5. anaximperator December 23, 2009 at 11:04 am

    You might try doing nothing special or extra the next time and see what happens.

  6. AndyD January 5, 2010 at 1:55 pm

    I almost always do nothing but drink lots of tap water for colds and flu and invariably get over them without much fuss, often within 24 hours. Does my anecdote trump lizanne’s?

  7. Carla January 5, 2010 at 3:47 pm

    You might try leeks. I know people who swear by them.😆

  8. beatis January 5, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    @ AndyD,

    Do you also watch stupid tv-shows while convalescing? I have have always found this very helpful in getting over the flu. The more stupid, the more helpful in my experience. Or should I say: he stupider, the helpfuller? Has a nice Alice-in-Wonderland-ring about it.

    Great blog you have btw. I particularly enjoyed this one: http://thinkingisreal.blogspot.com/2009/12/barnaby-joyce-killed-copernicus.html

    @Carla,

    Leeks are not for flu but for cancer. You are supposed to tie them on your back and run around the house 10 times every day. That’s how I cured my cancer. Works like magic.

  9. jli January 5, 2010 at 7:36 pm

    I tried the baking soda.

    I almost always do nothing but drink lots of tap water

    You might try leeks

    Do you also watch stupid tv-shows while convalescing?

    For some reason I am very pleased that I got vaccinated today😀

  10. beatis January 5, 2010 at 9:28 pm

    I had all the flu shots but I feel you can never be too careful. So I am not giving up my stupid tv-shows yet.🙂

  11. John Palmer February 7, 2010 at 8:56 am

    The world needs cynics, without cynics the crackpots would take over.
    When I hear about an alternative remedy I like to try it just to confirm what I already know, it wont work.
    Recently, while on holiday in spain, myself and my girlfriend both got the same cold/flu virus . She got it first and I was hit about 2 days later. The symptoms were identical. I took sodium bicarbonate on day 3 and noticed dramatic improvement almost instantly, I had made a complete recovery by the next day. My girlfriend didnt take any sodium bicarb and her symptoms lasted 9 nine days.
    The next time I get any cold/flu symptoms I will be taking sodium bicarbonate, I don’t really care whether anyone else does or not.

  12. CandidaCureDiet February 17, 2010 at 7:07 pm

    I think there’s no harm in trying it. If it really works, well, thanks for them that they have found an alternative cure to lessen a disease such as candida.🙂

  13. beatis February 17, 2010 at 7:17 pm

    This is not about baking soda for candida, but about baking soda for cancer.

  14. marcos September 28, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    How much are you been paid off to do this?
    There´s a lot of people who has been diagnosed with skin cancer and has successfully achived curation through simoncini´s treatments, i personally know some of those. You and your stupid cientific skepticism that doesn´t gives nothing positive to look for the truth. of course you are really safe “believing” that the gobernment and the pharmaceutical industry( that´s maybe throwing at you some dirty bone) it´s taking care of you and there´s nothing to be worried about. You, mind controlled sheeple, that´s what you are.

  15. beatis September 28, 2010 at 6:19 pm

    How much are you been paid off to do this?

    Just enough to keep this completely free-of-charge blog afloat.

  16. That Guy October 3, 2010 at 8:57 am

    http://www.rhine.org/

    http://www.noetic.org/

    *Sigh*

    Science DOES consider EVERYTHING, it’s actually a lack of personnel and monetary backup the only thing braking science. Yes, we have discussed this already, no, for me there’s not enough research, there never is.

    By the way, I caught a cold or something, I’ll check for some baking soda… how does one consume it for “cold control”? just a teaspoon in the water?

Leave a Reply

